Every six years or so, the Congress passes a national transportation bill that establishes transportation priorities and appropriates funds for programs and projects.  For almost a decade, federal transportation policies were set by the Safe Accountable Flexible Efficient Transportation Equity Act–A Legacy for Users (SAFETEA-LU), shepherded through the Congress by Alaska Rep. Don Young as the then-chairman of House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure.


*Image courtesy Allan Levine.

In 2012, SAFETEA-LU was replaced by the Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century Act (MAP-21), which expires in September, 2014.  MAP-21 is significant in that it made large appropriations to transportation programs without including specific project earmarks and that it gave authority to the states to decide which specific projects to build with formula-allocated funds.

JFA has been, and continues to be closely involved with the long process of passing national transportation bills and working with congressional delegations to advance client priorities.